Be Your Biggest Competitor

Stop comparing yourself to others and compare yourself with you.

Paul Alvarez
2 min readOct 1, 2019
Photo by Fares Hamouche on Unsplash

We like to compare ourselves to others a lot, whether it be with our careers, life choices, or successes. Personal comparisons can happen as well where we judge ourselves on what we wear or how we interact in public compared to others.

This, I feel, is becoming more and more prevalent in a world with social media and the growing internet. We want to share our best selves, hiding all the baggage and pain. Regardless of why someone shares something online, we shouldn’t immediately judge ourselves, or them, based off of our lives.

We need to be better about comparing ourselves to ourselves — recognizing areas in our lives that we would like to improve or goals that we want to reach. While at the same time, making sure to track our progress and motivate ourselves to go even further.

It is easier said than done, and it all might sound a little cliche, but it is a crucial thing to think about.

One way that I try to achieve competing with myself, in attempting to push my life in areas I would like to prosper in, is to journal. Keeping track of the progress I made in my life over time.

Judging and comparing myself to my past self is an excellent tool in recognizing the…

--

--

Paul Alvarez

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.